Operating Era: 1912-1955. St. Louis-San Francisco. Frisco ordered 1,000 single sheathed box cars from AC&F in 1912. Numbered
126000-126999, they were built in December 1912 and January 1913. Most were built with
single-sheathed ends. Twenty-seven of the cars received experimental outward-corrugated
7-8 steel ends, the first in history as far as we have been able to determine. This required
diagonal strapping on the side to brace the end. The side bracing on all the cars was also
unique, extending below the side sills to be tied in with the floor crossties. The roof was a
standard Murphy outside flexible metal roof.
The cars were rebuilt in 1926 with a Hutchins roof and a brace on the door. In the mid-1940s
a second grab iron was added to the left end of the side. Many cars also received bulge
plates at this time. The cars ran in revnue service until 1953.
Beginning in 1946 many cars were transferred to maintenance of way service, principally as
stores cars and renumbered 104050-104099. Cars were also rebuilt with doors and windows
for tool, frog repair, dining and sleeping cars and renumbered 102050-102099. MOW cars
were painted gray beginning in 1951 and silver in the 1960s. Some lasted well into the
Decal Set Available